Mizoram CM expands cabinet, appoints 4 new ministers | Popgen Tech


Aizawl: Mizoram Chief Minister Zoramthanga on Tuesday expanded his cabinet by inducting four more ministers into the fold.

Three existing State ministers – K. Lalrinliana, Lalchhandama Ralte and Lalruatkima and the former deputy speaker of the state assembly joined the state cabinet.

Mizoram Governor Hari Babu Kambhampati administered the oath of office to the four new ministers during a swearing-in ceremony held at the Raj Bhavan in Aizawl.

Currently, Mizoram has 10 cabinet ministers (including the chief minister) and two ministers of state.

Lalrinawma, who resigned as the deputy chairman on December 15, was given the Excise & Narcotics, Animal Husbandry & Veterinary, Social Welfare and Sericulture- portfolio to K. Beichhua, who resigned from the Zoramthanga ministry on December 13.

K. Lalrinliana, Lalchhandama Ralte and Lalruatkima retain their existing portfolios.

Sources in the MNF office said that Lawngtlai East constituency lawmaker H. Biakzuava is likely to take over as deputy speaker.

Beichhua of Siaha constituency resigned as minister of state on December 13.

He said that Zoramthanga told him to resign because the latter wanted to change the cabinet and portfolio.

The MNF leader might join the BJP before the state assembly polls, sources said.

Elections to the 40-member Mizoram assembly are due in the latter part of next year.

In the current assembly, the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) has 28 members, Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM)- 7, Congress-5 and BJP has one member.

Although the MNF is a member of the BJP-led North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) and an ally of the NDA government at the Centre, the party does not align and work with the BJP in the state.


Source link